Dodge points in Dodge Dice!

Recommended Age:8+
Players:2-6
Cost:$10.99
Play Time:15 Minutes
Company Site:www.gamewright.com
Skills:Probability Math Visual Discrimination
Contents:10 dice 18 skip chips Rules of play Rules in Spanish
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post below are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will add value to my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Dodge is a fun dice rolling game about NOT getting points. Yep, you don’t want points in this game. Let me tell you how tricky that is since I am so used to trying to get points in dice games. Tricky but so much fun! Taking turns rolling dice and setting aside the color that could give you points is fun and counts on a bit of luck.

Gamewright has some pretty amazing games but one of our favorites is Dodge Dice. This is a dice game where you don’t want to collect points and if you can you want to let or help another player get them. The catch is you don’t have any control unless you can control rolls of dice….but that’s called cheating. You are basically at the mercy of the luck of the roll…which I am not so lucky at.

The box is that sturdy cardboard with a shiny smooth wrapper and is very portable. Also, it has a magnetic flip top lid!!! Yes that is exciting…let me try to explain that a little better. The box is about 5 inches tall and about 4 inches…I didn’t measure so that is a guesstimate. It opens from the top with a flip top lid that magnetically stays closed. We sometimes use the box as a Dice Cup but mostly my daughter does because she can’t roll all the dice in her two little hands.

2014-09-04 20.22.25 copyThe dice are slightly smaller than standard dice and the nice kind not those light and cheap kind. There are purple circle chips that are smooth hard plastic and about the width of the dice. Both are small enough for kids to put in their mouth so make sure your kids don’t still put things in their mouths. The instructions fold in half long ways and go in first with the bag full of all the dice and chips sliding neatly inside it.

That’s it. That is all there is in and to the box and the game. So much fun in such a small package. I just love that. Dodge Dice is one of our on the go games thanks to its smaller size and no need for a large playing area. You can literally play on an end table at the doctor’s office. We tend to take it with us when we go to appointments, friends, the Y, and the pool for those breaks between swimming. The beautiful part is that the game is so easy to clean up and quick to play that you never feel like you got it out for nothing or wasted time setting up.

Of course I will explain how to play and even explain how I play with my 3 year old daughter who has to play everything we play. Keep in mind she doesn’t put small toys in her mouth anymore and we play Dodge Dice on a very basic level. Now on to the How To’s and What Not’s…ok fine just the How To’s.2014-09-04 20.08.18-5 copy

Objective:

Have the LEAST amount of points when one player reaches 100 points. If you tie then the two players who tie keep playing until someone scores…the other player wins. You can of course adjust the score to make it longer, shorter of a game.

Setup:

You will need a piece of paper and a pen or pencil and someone trustworthy to keep score. If playing with younger kids YOU or another adult should keep score. Unless you are working on writing numbers and addition then of course let them keep score.

Each player starts off with 3 Skip Chips (those purple chips) and the rest go in a pile in the middle of all players but not in the way of dice rolling.

2014-09-04 19.46.40-2 copyThe Dice:

Before we go on to the How to Play part we should cover the Dice so you know…how to play.

Penalty Die: This is the die with the numbers. Blue 10, Green 20 and Orange 40. Luckily there is only one side of that! This is the Die that determines your fate at the end of the round…in terms of points dished out to the unlucky (or rarely lucky) player.

Action Die: The Action Die has an Arrow, a Stop sign, a Purple Circle, a Dash, a x2 and a x3. Each action means something different the Arrow, the Dash and the x2 and x3 only count if rolled on the last roll of the round.

  • The Stop sign ends the round immediately.
  • The Purple Circle gives you 1 Skip Chip immediately.
  • The Dash will let you subtract points from your score. You CAN have a negative number for points.
  • The Arrow means you get to give those points you just earned to another player. Woo Hoo!
  • The x2 means your points x 2 and the x3 means…your points x 32014-09-04 20.20.18 copy

Dodge Dice: There are eight of these and each has the same color combo as the Penalty Die.

NOW we can move on to the Play part of the explaining so all that makes more sense.

Play:

The first player is the person who played Dodge Ball last…brilliant! I do love special start rules even if it means I never go first. In the beginning of the very first round, the First Player rolls all of the dice. Locate the Penalty Die and set it aside for all to see and then locate the Action Die.

If it shows a Stop then the first round is over and the First Player gets the points on the Penalty Die, if not play continues. You would not believe how many times this happened to me. Twice the first time I played with my son and one of those worth 40 points!

Set aside all Dodge Dice that match the Penalty Dice color. For example, if the First Player rolled a Blue 10 on the Penalty Die and the x2 on the Action Die, play would continue and you would set aside any Dodge Dice that were Blue and pass the remaining dice, including the Action Die to the player on the left. If the Action Die is a Skip Chip you would gain 1 Skip Chip and pass the remaining dice to your left.

2014-09-04 19.37.44 copyOnly the Stop and Skip Chip happen immediately. The rest of the symbols on the Action Die happen ONLY at the end of a round which is when there are no more Dodge Dice to roll because you set them all aside. At the end of each round points are added, subtracted if the Dash is shown, or passed to another player if the Arrow is shown and a new round will begin. The player who starts a new round is the player to the left (in order) of the person who rolled last.

Once a player reaches 100 points or whatever goal you set the game is over and the player with the least points wins. However, if you play them right the Skip Chips can help you out a lot. The purple little beauties can let you skip a turn or have an entire roll not count…for a price. You start out with three for each player and the ONLY time you can gain more is by rolling the Action Die and it landing on the Purple Circle.

It will cost 1 Skip Chip to pass on a turn if you don’t want to take chances. This is best done when there is only 1 or 2 Dodge Dice left. You can spend 2 Skip Chips AFTER you have rolled to pretend it never happened which is GREAT if you rolled the Action Die and ONE Dodge Die (or even two) and you lost…with 40 points on the line. Yeah…that happens to me more than I care to admit.2014-09-04 19.36.49 copy

My son is 5 going on 6 and can play this normally but can’t keep score just yet. He can tell me how many points I get though…and does with a little too much glee. Also, he understands how to play very well and either understands or gets really lucky on when to Skip a turn. However, he forgets to play his two Skip Chips to have a turn not count so we remind him…sometimes.

Now my little Diva HAS to play too…of course. So I adjusted but this time I did adjust the game slightly. We don’t use points and instead only use Skip Chips as sort of points. Normally I don’t adjust the game but by using the Skip Chips instead of worrying about points she starts to understand how the Dice work which will help later on. Here is how I did it.

Objective:

Collect the most Skip Chips by the time they run out. Or if you don’t want to play for possibly hours you could set a certain number a goal too. We use 3 or 5 Skip Chips to win depending on her attention span at the time.2014-09-04 20.19.29 copy

Setup: Preschool

When playing with my Diva we don’t keep score but we do use all of the dice. No one starts with any Skip Chips and youngest player goes first. We also use a Dice Cup or the box from Dodge Dice to help her (and my son) roll all those dice. So much easier…once she gets the hang of not unleashing them all around the room.

Before we go on to the How to Play part we should cover the Dice so you know…how to play this version.

The Dice: Preschool

Penalty Die: This is the die with the numbers. Blue 10, Green 20 and Orange 40. In this version this die is ONLY used to determine the color we set aside. No points so the number doesn’t matter although you could have them say it just for practice. I do make her tell me the color though, then she sets it aside and finds all the matches.2014-09-04 20.12.03-1 copy

Action Die: The Action Die has an Arrow, a Stop sign, a Purple Circle, a Dash, a x2 and a x3. Each action means something different the Arrow, the Dash and the x2 and x3 only count if rolled on the last roll of the round. We ignore the x2 and x3 right now but when she can pay attention for longer periods we will add those back in but still use Skip Chips. So if you rolled a x2 on the last round you would get 2 Skip Chips.

  • The Stop sign ends the round immediately. Next player rolls all the dice.
  • The Purple Circle gives you 1 Skip Chip immediately and then its the next players turn.
  • The Dash in this version means you have to subtract 1 Skip Chip from your pile and put it back in the main pile.
  • The Arrow means you have to give 1 Skip Chip to another player. Again ONLY if it is rolled on the last turn of the round.
  • The x2 means you 2 Skip Chips and the x3 means…you get x 3 Skip Chips. I recommend ignoring these in the beginning.

Dodge Dice: There are eight of these and each has the same color combo as the Penalty Die. These are what you and your child will match while trying to get Skip Chips.

NOW we can move on to the Play part of the explaining so all that makes more sense.

Play:

The first player is the youngest person playing. In the beginning of the very first round, the First Player rolls all of the dice, locates the Penalty Die and sets it aside. Have your child tell you the color of the die and then find all the dice that match to set next to it.

If it shows a Stop then the first round is over, if not play continues. If the Action Die is a Skip Chip you would gain 1 Skip Chip and pass the remaining dice to the next player. Remember, just like in the regular rules only the Stop and Skip Chip happen immediately. The rest of the symbols on the Action Die happen ONLY at the end of a round which is when there are no more Dodge Dice to roll because you set them all aside.

Once a player reaches 3 or 5 Skip Chips or all of them are gone from the main pile the game is over and the player with the most Skip Chips wins. We don’t use the Skip Chips in this version the normal way. Like I said I don’t normally change rules of games but in playing this way with my daughter she is learning the very basics of the game, reinforcing her colors, matching and counting skills and she gets to play a game like her brother. As she learns these rules better I will slowly adjust to the normal rules but for now we’ll keep having fun this way.

I love this game is so easily adaptable for my Diva, challenging enough for the Mad Hatter and me and still easy enough to learn and play for my Gentleman. There aren’t many games out there that all of us can play and are so portable too! Kids of ALL ages will love playing Dodge Dice so if you are looking for a new family game this is for you.

dodgedicereview2

“You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”
~ Albert Einstein

Author: sandyz

2 thoughts on “Dodge points in Dodge Dice!

  1. Hi,

    I’m actually the designer of the game, and I wanted to say how thrilled I am that you enjoyed the game! It’s one of the most thorough reviews I’ve seen, and entertaining to read as well.

    Once again…thanks!!

    Sincerely,

    Eric Messersmith

    1. Wow thank you so much! I love when designers and developers of games read and enjoy the reviews of their games. You guys put a lot of time into making them so I figure they deserve no less than 100% of my time into reviewing them. Thank you again and keep making awesome games!

      ~Sandy

Comments are closed.